The Lafayette Genealogical Society is a not for profit society. Our mission is to encourage an interest in all family history; as well as collect, preserve and make available Attakapas area history. This includes the Parishes of Lafayette, St. Martin, St. Mary, Acadia, Vermilion, Evangeline and Iberia.

We are an organization of genealogists, who work together in preserving family history and local history. Although we meet in Lafayette and have a particular interest in Louisiana history, many of our members have family that requires research outside of Louisiana. Our members include individuals from Louisiana, Canada, France and elsewhere.

Thousands of individual's come from all over the World each year to learn about our culture, as well as research their families in local repositories. Including, the wonderful genealogical collections housed at the Lafayette Public Library and the Dupre Library on the UL Campus.

We welcome anyone interested in learning about his or her lineage and preserving the history of the Attakapas area through documentation. If you are not a member of our society, we would like to invite you to attend one or more of our meetings to learn more about us.

We currently have 115 members in our society, several of whom are from outside of Louisiana. Meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month in the south regional branch of the Lafayette Public Library, 6101 Johnson Street in Lafayette Louisiana, unless otherwise noted.
See the schedule of Meetings/Events, location and topics.

Visitors are always welcome at our meetings!

For further information on becoming a member, please send an email to one of the Officers of the Society

Membership Information

Membership is $20/yr.

Download Membership Form by clicking on this  Link.

Print form, complete entries required and mail with $20 check or money order to Lafayette Genealogical Society "Attention Membership"

Lafayette Genealogical Society
PO Box 52041
Lafayette, LA. 70505-2041


Brenda Thibodeaux

President -

Henry Peterson

President Elect -

Brenda Fuselier

Vice President -

Warren LeBlanc

Treasurer -

Kathy Pellerin

Secretary -

Everett Thompson

Webmaster -