Volume 2009 Issue 12

17 January 2009 Meeting


The Lafayette Genealogy Society held their annual Christmas Party, Thursday, December 17, 2009 at 6:00 pm at the Petroleum Club. A delicious meal was served to members and guests. The speaker was Jim Bradshaw. Rogers Romero presented the Presidents Award to Earl Gates for his untiring effort at developing and presenting power point programs of interest to genealogists. Martha Luby purchased and wrapped door prizes for everyone resent. James Bourque swore in the officers for the coming year. They are: President William Thibodeaux, Vice-President Brenda Fuselier, President-elect Pat Snyder, Secretary Dorothy Burleigh, Treasure Warren LeBlanc. Lona Bourque presented past officers certificates to the retiring officers, Warren LeBlanc distributed "Les Memories de Lafayette" to all members present. The program was dedicated to Charles Patterson, a past President of the Society who guided the society into the 20th century using computers for newsletters, developing our website and publishing "Les Memories de Lafayette" on disk. Rogers Romero summarized the activities of the club during the 2009 year. William Thibodeaux outlined his goals for the society in the coming year.

There being no further business, the banquet was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dorothy Burleigh